prakhesar's blog

you can just reinvent yourself

when I was 7 years old, my dad told me to turn off my video games and join him on a walk. I hated it. I cried a bunch, and he didn't take me on many walks after that.

for the next 15 years, I didn't pay much thought to my physical health. what pushed me to start was when I realized that a 22-year-old probably shouldn't be in pain going up the stairs. so, I decided to buy an apple watch [1]. I was a man on a mission - I set it up with no apps and no notifications. this wasn't going to be an extension of my phone; it was going to be a means for me to track & measure my physical progress.

I became obsessed with reaching my daily fitness goals [2]. I wouldn't sleep or end my day unless I completed them - this led to me doing 2+ workouts & going on multiple walks in a single day. it didn't matter if it was the largest snowstorm in years, or if I was at a dinner at 11pm with 50 calories left to fill. I was going to get my rings filled, and I was going to get my steps in.

the main thing I've learned from this experience is that you can completely reinvent the person that you are overnight.

people started to regard me as someone who was active and took my health seriously. I started having friends & family reach out for advice for their own ailments, routines, or just general health advice.

it's been 731 days since I chose to reinvent myself. I haven't missed a single day despite injuries, sickness, and droughts of motivation. lots of things have changed in the last 2 years of my life, but staying active has not been one of them.

I now force my dad to turn his phone off and walk with me. he probably never thought he would see the day 17 years ago.


[1] this was actually my third apple watch - I never used the first 2, and gave them away. this one was going to be different.

[2] 600 calories burned, 60 minutes of exercise, and 10 stand hours per day.